Author Platform??

When I first started searching for someone to publish my book, I found there was a lot more to it than I had first thought. Every place I sent my query letter wanted something different. I found myself spending hours preparing a synopsis, an outline or a summary. The one thing they all asked me about was my platform. Honestly, I didn’t even know what it was so I was pretty sure I didn’t have one. After doing my research (which is the first thing all authors do) I discovered that I had a lot of work to do. Luckily, I am with an independent publisher that specializes in new authors. I have a wonderful book manager that has walked me through every step. I now have an author Facebook page, a Twitter and a website with a blog. Unfortunately, building a platform doesn’t happen overnight, matter of fact, it doesn’t happen in a year. It takes time- both the passage of time and an investment of your own personal time.

It seems kind of ironic to me that people who chose a profession where they spend all of their time alone are expected to build up their own fan base. I’m not exactly comfortable building up myself and my book. But, alas, it is part of the process. So I find myself hounding my Facebook friends to like my page and share my status. I just hope I don’t chase them all away or cause them to “unfriend” me! So for anyone reading this and sharing my journey, thank you! You are helping me build my platform one follower at a time.

Leave a Reply

