Called to Write, Part 2

I hope I didn’t bore you so much with part 1 that you won’t read part 2! It was a long journey to get to where I am today, and just when I was convinced I was completely on the wrong path- God would show me I was right where I should be. There are so many people He put in my life to encourage me, guide me and just support me. But unfortunately, lots of people just didn’t get it. Coming from a small town, when you have dreams that don’t fit the mold people make a lot of assumptions- like all writers are rich and famous (don’t I wish!!) or some think you must think you’re better than everyone because people “like us” don’t write books. Then when you combine that with the statement that God called me to write…you can only imagine. Who am I that God would call me to write? And you know what? I asked myself that question millions of times. No I don’t think I’m perfect or that I am any closer to God than anyone else. Matter of fact, I probably mess up more than most. I struggle with lots of things, and I am not embarrassed to share that. That’s why my books have flawed main characters- being a flawed Christian is all I know. Writing a book takes a long time, especially if you are raising a family and working a full time job. I knew there was a very high possibility my book would never be published and I was okay with that. I was writing out of obedience. So if the only people that ever read it were my mom and a couple of close friends- so be it. I knew there were lessons for me to learn through the process and God was going to use it- even He only used it in my life. I worked hard to get it published, and received lots of rejection letters. Don’t let anyone lie to you- that’s hard. When you have invested years and poured yourself into a novel it’s very personal. It’s almost like a child. Part of me didn’t want to share it because I didn’t want someone to tell me it was terrible. Booktrope accepted the manuscript for publication, and it couldn’t have been a better fit for me. They have held my hand through the process and hopefully you will see Tangled Web available on Amazon and through Booktrope on October 27. If I only sell ten copies, I’ll know that it has accomplished what God intended it to do. His hand has been on it from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

