What is Your Last Message?

It seems to take a day like the anniversary of 9/11 to really ground us. It reminds us of how fleeting and fragile life can be. It’s easy to assume we will wake up tomorrow and accomplish all the things we have planned. We take our own life and all the people we share it with for granted. Then we are hit with a tragedy like 9/11. We all remember exactly where we were and what we were doing when it happened. It will be engrained in our memory in the same way the Kennedy assassination was for our parents and grandparents. I know it will probably be one of the most significant events of my lifetime.

I find it hard to watch the memorials and documentaries because it breaks my heart. Yet, I feel that I owe it to the victims and their families to remember. I ran across a post on Facebook today that I had to share. It is the message that Brian Sweeney, a passenger aboard United Airlines Flight 175, left on his wife’s phone.

blog911

All of the sudden, these people are more than names- now they are real. When a tragedy strikes us whether it’s on a national scale or personal, we hold our loved ones closer, focus on what’s important and pray. The exact things we should be doing every day.

Take those emotions you felt that day and infuse them into every day. We loved each other, loved our country, and looked to God. None of the petty stuff mattered- we were worried about the safety of our loved ones and praying for those directly affected. Our hearts were softened, but our beliefs and convictions were strengthened.

I can’t imagine what it was like to be in one of those towers or on one of those planes that day. I’m sure people found strength, courage and faith they didn’t know they had. Karen Kingsbury wrote a book called, One Tuesday Morning that was about a firefighter and his wife that were part of that terrible tragedy. In one scene, the firefighter is trapped on an upper story of one of the towers with several other firefighters. They know there is no way out, and they are waiting to die. It still moves me to tears every time I read it. I know for some people it had to be that way. They knew there was no escape, and I know many of those people took that time to pray and cry out to God. I also , that believe He reached down His hand and plucked them out of that inferno before they felt any pain, because that is the kind of God I serve. Not everyone that died that day was given that kind of time and warning, some never knew what hit them. That is how we should live every day because we never know what tomorrow- or even the next second will hold. We should live every day as if it were our last; sharing the love of Jesus and loving each other.

Leave a Reply

