Answered Prayers

Do you remember when you were a kid, and you did something that you knew would disappoint your parents? Or even now, when you disappoint someone you care about and someone that you value their opinion? They don’t have to say anything to you about it- just knowing that you let them down is enough. Sometimes, I feel that way with my Heavenly Father. I have been praying hard for a situation in my life. I’ve been riding that fine line of having faith and trusting Him to take care of it and wondering if I should be actively doing something to remedy it. There is an old joke about a preacher who is caught in a flood and climbs to the top of the church to escape the high water. A guy in a boat comes by and asked if he needs a ride and the preacher tells him, “No, my God will save me.” Then a guy in a helicopter comes by and offers him a ride and the guy once again says, “No, my God will save me.” Eventually, the flood waters overtake the preacher and he drowns. When he gets to heaven, he asked God why he didn’t save him. God said, “Well, I sent a boat and a helicopter, what more did you want?”

Sometimes I feel like the preacher. I want the miracle. I want God to show me His glory and perform a modern day miracle on my behalf- and sometimes, He does. But other times, it’s just a soft whisper of an answer. Just a gentle nudging- no lightning or flashes of glory- just a “Hey, why don’t you do this?” And there is my answer. He has answered my prayer, maybe not in the way I expected or with all the fanfare. But He provided a way just like I asked for. My first question was, “Really, God? That’s it- that’s what you want me to do? But we could have had such a story to tell. I could have told everyone how at the last minute you stepped in and saved the day.” And then, ouch!! That nasty conviction fills my heart, and suddenly I am reminded of all the miracles I’ve witnessed in the past 6 months. Not just one or two- maybe one or two the last week. Every day He is working in my life- everyday answering my prayers. Sometimes in a big way, sometimes in a quiet gentle way. God doesn’t need me or my prayers to prove how big He is. I don’t need a miracle so that I can brag on Him. My God is the God of miracles- my very existence is proof of that. He is the God that raises the dead, parts the sea, and controls every single thing that happens on this earth. My daily miracle is that even though He is all of that, He still loves me and cares about me enough to listen to my prayers and answer them as He sees fit.

Leave a Reply

